Research set · Documents published · Best Spray Foam research desk · Documents checked 2026-09-08

DAP Wall & Cavity Foam, 20 oz wide-spray can Review

DAP Wall & Cavity Foam is a 20 oz one-component can with a wide-spray applicator, a data sheet that names ASTM methods for every figure, an aged R-4.1 at 1 in to ASTM C518, and an E84 result of 10/450 at 2.75 in. It is rated 3.1 from 418 on Amazon and 4.6 from 42 on Walmart. It appears on the wide-spray page as one of three, and here because its maker names wall cavities, rim joists, crawlspaces, attics and basements as its jobs.

DAP Wall & Cavity Foam, 20 oz wide-spray can spray foam insulation kit
PackSingle can1 x 20 oz
Claimed coverageUp to 11 board feet per can (theoretical)theoretical
R-valueR-4.1 at 1 in, aged, ASTM C518 (manufacturer)
Evidence levelDocuments published
Check the Single can on Amazon Official store

Research desk note · editorial opinion, not a test result

What to check first

This is the only product in our tracked set that states its R-value the way the FTC rule asks: ASTM C518, aged, at a thickness, 4.1 at 1 in. The four leading kits print 5.66 per inch from a German conductivity method with no aging basis. The 28 percent gap between the two numbers is about the size of the aging effect the rule exists to capture, and DAP is the one maker that shows it.

The same can is rated 3.1 from 418 on Amazon and 4.6 from 42 on Walmart. That is the widest gap between two stores for any product we track. Thirty-six percent of the Amazon ratings are one star, the highest share in the set; we have not yet read the pattern behind them, and the obvious first question is whether buyers expected a wide-pattern can to behave like an insulation kit, which the sheet does not claim.

It sits on this page and on the wide-spray page because DAP sells it for both jobs: stud wall cavities, rim joists, crawlspaces, attics and basements, with a wide-angle applicator. It is interior use only and its E84 smoke index at 2.75 in is 450, the Class A ceiling, which the sheet prints.

Best Spray Foam research desk ·

Research rating

What the documents support, out of 100

Desk confidence: Watching
66.5of 100
  • Product documentation 24 / 30
  • Claim traceability 18 / 20
  • What you get 10 / 20
  • Price per ounce of product 6.7 / 15
  • Owner feedback 7.8 / 15
Every point, and the fact behind it
Technical data sheet 6 / 12 A data sheet with the SKU on it and no revision date.
Safety data sheet 6 / 6 Safety data sheet linked from the product page in English and Spanish.
Fire evidence 12 / 12 ASTM E84 flame spread 10 and smoke developed 450 at 2.75 in, with nothing on the sheet contradicting it.
Net contents per can 4 / 4 20 oz on the sheet and both listings.
Model identifiers 4 / 4 SKU 7565000370 on the sheet, the Amazon model field and the Walmart model field.
Yield stated with its conditions 2 / 4 Up to 11 board feet, theoretical, with a 1/2 in wet pass and no distance or speed.
R-value at a documented thickness 4 / 4 Aged R-4.1 at 1 in to ASTM C518, the same on the sheet and the Amazon bullet.
Density published 4 / 4 Core density 1.4 pcf to ASTM D1622.
Equipment in the box 0 / 8 A single can with its applicator; no gun, cleaner or protective equipment.
Material in the pack 6 / 6 20 oz of product.
Where it is listed 4 / 6 Amazon and Walmart; DAP does not sell direct.
Cost per ounce of product 6.7 / 15 21.75 dollars for 20 oz is 1.088 an ounce, the highest in the set.
Rating and volume 7.8 / 15 3.1 from 418 Amazon ratings.

Why this confidence level · editorial opinion, not a test result

The documents are there and we have asked the seller something we have not had an answer to. The best documentation block outside the ranked kits and the worst price per ounce, which is what a 20 oz can with an applicator is. The only aged, method-named R-value in the set, both fire indices at a stated thickness, a density with its method, and a 36 percent one-star share on Amazon that we have not read yet. DAP has not been asked anything; the sheet answers most of it.

Scored on . The score is what the documents support; the confidence level is our view of that evidence and never changes the arithmetic. How the rating is built · All 14 scored side by side.

How the manufacturer describes it

Compiled from the DAP technical data sheet and product page and the Amazon and Walmart listings as they read on September 8, 2026. It is the maker’s description, not ours.

  • A one-component polyurethane foam in a 20 oz aerosol with a patent-pending wide-spray applicator and an adjustable nozzle for horizontal and vertical patterns, for stud wall cavities, rim joists, crawlspaces, attics and basements.
  • ASTM C518 aged R-value 4.1 at 1 in; closed-cell content over 80 percent (ASTM D6226); core density 1.4 pcf (ASTM D1622); expands up to 3x (ASTM C1643).
  • ASTM E84 flame spread 10 and smoke developed 450 at 2.75 in; UL classified foamed plastic; "Class A Fire Rated to meet building codes" on the listing.
  • Application at 40 to 120 F; tack-free in 7 to 12 minutes; full cure in 4 hours on the listing and 24 hours on the sheet; interior use only.
  • Up to 11 board feet per can, stated as a theoretical yield.

Compiled from DAP Wall & Cavity Aerosol Foam technical data sheet and the brand's marketplace listing, read on .

Documents on file

What exists for this product, what each document says in its own terms, and what it leaves open. A document we have seen but the seller does not publish is described, not hosted.

  • Technical data sheet Published by the seller

    DAP Wall & Cavity Aerosol Foam technical data sheet, SKU 7565000370 · read 2026-09-08

    • ASTM C518 aged R-value 4.1 at 1 in; ASTM E84 flame spread 10 and smoke developed 450 at 2.75 in; UL classified foamed plastic
    • Core density 1.4 pcf (ASTM D1622); closed-cell content over 80 percent (ASTM D6226); expands up to 3x (ASTM C1643)
    • Air permeance under 0.004 CFM/ft2 at 1 in (ASTM E2178); water vapor transmission 4.1 perm at 1 in (ASTM E96)
    • Application 40 to 120 F; tack-free 7 to 12 minutes; typically cured in 24 hours; up to 11 board feet per can, theoretical; interior use only
    Open:
    • The sheet carries no revision date.
    • The Amazon listing states a full cure in 4 hours against the sheet’s 24 hours.
    • The smoke-developed index of 450 is the Class A maximum; the result covers 2.75 in and no thicker application.
  • Safety data sheet Published by the seller

    DAP Wall & Cavity Foam safety data sheet, English · read 2026-09-08

    • Linked from the DAP product page in English and Spanish
  • Fire test report Not published on any channel we read

    Fire test report · read 2026-09-08

    Open:
    • The sheet prints the indices and the thickness; the laboratory and report number are not published.

The FastCoat, SprayCoat, ThermCoat and SuperCoat documents state the same yield basis of 20 board feet at 1 inch, the same nozzle A for walls and nozzle B for ceilings, the same 1-inch layer advice with water misting between coats, and the same 24-hour cure with a 40-minute cutting time. The SprayCoat and ThermCoat data sheets also carry the same packaging line, 28.7 oz at a gross 2.05 lb with 12 to a box. We record the pattern; we have not established who manufactures any of them.

The one can with an aged, method-named R-value, and the widest rating gap between two stores

FieldDAP data sheet and pageAmazon listingWalmart listing
Pack on this pageSingle 20 oz can, case of 6Single 20 oz at $21.75; pack of 6 listedSingle 20 oz at $21.75; 4-pack and 16-pack listed
Net contents per can20 oz20 oz20 fl oz
Stated coverageUp to 11 board feet, theoreticalNot statedNot stated
Stated R-valueASTM C518 aged 4.1 at 1 in"Meets ASTM C518 Aged R-Value of 4.1 at 1 in"Not in the specification table
Fire statementASTM E84 10/450 at 2.75 in; UL classifiedClass A fire ratedClass A in the description
Full cureTypically 24 hours on the sheet4 hours24 h dry time
Model number75650003707565000370, UPC 0756500037017565000370, UPC 075650003701
Sold bydap.comDAP Products Inc.Walmart.com
RatingNone shown3.1 from 4184.6 from 42

What the differences mean

A 1.5-star gap between two stores

Amazon 3.1 from 418 ratings with 36 percent at one star; Walmart 4.6 from 42.

Why it matters. Two audiences reading one can very differently is a pattern to read, not a verdict. It is the largest cross-store gap in our set.

Sources: Amazon listing B0D9J13PTV · Walmart listing 10338854489

Four hours or twenty-four

The Amazon bullet says fully cures in 4 hours; the data sheet says typically cured in 24 hours depending on thickness, temperature and humidity.

Why it matters. Cure time decides when the next pass, the trim and the cover go on; the sheet is the number to plan by.

Sources: DAP Wall & Cavity Aerosol Foam technical data sheet · Amazon listing B0D9J13PTV

Class A at the ceiling

The sheet prints a smoke-developed index of 450 at 2.75 in, which is the maximum the Class A definition allows.

Why it matters. The claim holds, and it holds with no margin. A thicker application than the tested 2.75 in is outside the result.

Sources: DAP Wall & Cavity Aerosol Foam technical data sheet

In the box

  • 1 can, 20 oz
  • Wide-spray applicator with adjustable nozzle, included
  • No gun, cleaner or protective equipment

There is no kit. The applicator is the product’s reason to exist, and it can be cleaned with acetone and reused per the sheet.

Listing signals

  • Amazon rating: 3.1 from 418 ratings Platform-reported on September 8, 2026
  • Amazon rating spread: 42% five star, 11% four, 4% three, 7% two, 36% one Platform-reported distribution
  • Amazon category rank: #44 in Hardware Sealers Platform-reported best sellers rank
  • Walmart rating: 4.6 from 42, sold by Walmart.com Platform-reported

The one-star share is the highest in the set and the Walmart rating is among the highest. Platform figures, not a sample we drew. How we weigh ratings and demos: reviews, ads and expansion demos. How we read a fire claim: ASTM E84 and Class A. How coverage units work: coverage and yield.

All three listings read on : DAP Wall & Cavity Aerosol Foam technical data sheet · Amazon listing B0D9J13PTV · Walmart listing 10338854489. Prices change and are deliberately not reproduced here.

Pack sizes

Choose a pack only after matching the exact product, required volume and included equipment. Larger boxes do not automatically cost less per usable board foot. Check pack identity and bundle contents.

Single can Smaller pack option Kit we compare
11 board feet claimed · 1 x 20 oz
6-Pack
66 board feet claimed · 6 x 20 oz
Where to buy - and why

Sold by DAP itself on Amazon and by Walmart.com on Walmart at the same $21.75 on September 8, 2026; Walmart also lists 4-packs and 16-packs.

No commission is earned on these links yet. When that changes, this guidance stays user-first and is disclosed.

Product overview

DAP describes a one-component polyurethane foam in a 20 oz aerosol with a patent-pending wide-spray applicator, for stud wall cavities, rim joists, crawlspaces, attics and basements, interior use only, with an aged R-value of 4.1 at 1 in to ASTM C518 and Class A surface-burning results at 2.75 in.

Manufacturer-stated features

  • Aged R-4.1 at 1 in - ASTM C518, on the data sheet
  • ASTM E84 flame spread 10, smoke developed 450 at 2.75 in
  • Closed-cell content over 80 percent (ASTM D6226); core density 1.4 pcf (ASTM D1622)
  • Up to 11 board feet per can - theoretical; expands up to 3x
  • Application 40 to 120 F; tack-free 7 to 12 minutes; interior use only

Overview synthesized from the brand’s official page and the Amazon listing. Specifications are manufacturer claims, not independently verified.

Eleven board feet a can, theoretical: one rim joist bay at 2 in takes about a can and a half. It is a touch-up and small-area product by its own sheet.

What stands out

  • Aged R-value to ASTM C518, both E84 indices at a stated thickness, density and closed-cell content on the sheet
  • Sold by DAP on Amazon and by Walmart.com on Walmart

Open questions

  • 3.1 from 418 on Amazon with a 36 percent one-star share
  • Sheet carries no revision date; cure time differs between the listing and the sheet

Best for

Rim joists, touch-ups and small areas without a gun, with the only aged R-value in the set behind it.

Not for

Whole walls or attics; eleven board feet a can is not a kit, and the maker says interior use only.

All pack sizes & where to buy

PackClaimed coverageAmazonOfficial
Single canMost chosenCompared 11 bd ft (1 x 20 oz) Check price Store
6-Pack 66 bd ft (6 x 20 oz) Check price Store

Amazon links are per-size. Official links open the brand store, where you pick the size. Prices and availability change - always confirm on the retailer.